What I’ve read so far in 2015

As I mentioned in my New Years Resolutions post I want to read 25 books within 2015. And I’m already certain I’ll fly pass this goal. Okay maybe not fly, more like gently saunter.  If you follow me on Instagram you might have seen my tally of books that I’ve read so far.

IMG_0777

I’m quite pleased with eight in three months considering how busy I’ve been. I decided it would be nice to tell you guys a little bit about these books! So let’s begin:

“Reading gives us a place to go when we have to stay where we are”

DSC_3909

Frankenstein – Mary Shelley 

A classic. Though it took me a fair amount of time to read this book I thoroughly enjoyed it; having watched various adaptions of this novel I can now confidently say none have come close to expressing the brilliance of the book. I found myself being memorised by the beautiful descriptions of Geneva, Ingolstadt and the Orkney surroundings. Viktor’s narrative added depth and emotion (a hell of a lot of emotion)!

DSC_3917

The Ghosts of Heaven – Marcus Sedgwick

I admit the only reasons I bought this book was because the book cropped up on Bunny Hopkins’ Instagram plus I got sucked into the idea of being able to read the book in any order – I mean that’s pretty cool! However I am very glad I did pick it up! I started at the end in the order 4, 3, 1 and finally 2. I don’t know whether this was the best order as I found the last two sections the best; 3 being my favourite. So I began with these incredible stories and then they just went slowly downhill. It was just that first section, written like a poem but without the flow of a good poem. It was such a shame. But overall I did seriously enjoy this book!

DSC_3912

The Eye of Minds – James Dashner

Another dystopian novel. Another interesting blurb. Another novel that couldn’t live up to it’s premise. I really liked the idea of this book and actually the plot was really engrossing; the writing however let this book down. A lot of the stuff felt underwritten – I went through the first book having no idea what the characters actually looked like at all – whilst the major events were overwritten – some descriptions just seemed stuffy and awkward. Still, if you’re looking for a light read that will keep you intrigued this might be for you.

DSC_3913

The Rule of Thoughts – James Dashner

Yes, the sequel to The Eye of Minds. As I said before I was thoroughly invested with the plot and had to know what happened next. The writing style remained the same but the quality was better, not exactly by leaps and bounds but definitely by quite a bit. Dasher is wonderful at cliffhangers and making the reader want more. Within this book these plot twists were a lot more prominent and effective. I couldn’t put it down!

DSC_3915

Atonement – Ian McEwan

I’ve always loved the film, starring Kiera Knightley, Saoirse Ronan and James McAvoy. I only found out it was a book when I opened it on Christmas day – by the way Mum, thanks for that, you do chose some good presents! I really really loved this book. I thought I knew the story but so much was left out. I’m glad I got to see the story of Briony Tallis in detail.  A beautiful story beautifully written.

DSC_3914

A Song for Ella Grey – David Almond 

Almond’s style of writing is very unique and that’s why reading his books is so much fun. With the narrative coming from Ella Grey’s best friend Claire the retelling of the tragic tale of Orpheus and Eurydice is made even more tragic yet still beautiful. Saying that, the adaptation was a bit too similar to the Roman myth for me. I wanted to still be shocked by what happened or to learn something new about the tale; I was a little disappointed. Also , this may just be me but, the relationship between Ella and Claire was too ambiguous for my liking. I couldn’t figure out whether they were a couple or just very friendly and it made the story a bit confusing.

DSC_3918

Divergent – Veronica Roth

I’m a little late on the bandwagon but I finally did it! It did not disappoint. I’m always weary to start reading books with huge hype surrounding them and for some reason I had no interest what-so-ever in Divergent. But the story was so compelling and well written. Although the ending was slightly rushed I felt, I found this novel to be one of the best dystopian books out there.  I look forward to picking up Insurgent

DSC_3907

Beautiful Creatures : The Manga – Kimi Garcia

I don’t know why I started reading this; I literally came upon it at school and decided to give it a go. I really enjoy mangas and graphic novels and I didn’t know much about Beautiful Creatures so what a good mix ey? The art style was brilliant – it wan’t cleaned edges and perfected which I thought went really well with the themes of the story.  I don’t read much ‘witchy’ type books but I quite liked this take on the well-known creature.

And that’s everything! I hope you enjoyed reading this and comment down below what you’ve read so far this year, I’d love to know! Also if you’re wondering I’m currently reading A Room Swept White by Sophie Hannah as I got to see her speak at a local literary festival.

Subscribe to my YouTube channel / Like me on Facebook / Follow me on Twitter & Instagram

*UPDATE*

IMG_0145

Since writing this post -which was albeit a couple weeks ago – I have read another four books: A Room Swept White by Sophie Hannah, Jeklly’s Mirror by William Hussey, Killing the Dead by Marcus Sedgwick and Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill (which is utterly mind-blowing and will be getting a full review on the blog soon!).

Leave a Reply

