Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_0648

I had been planning to upload my review for Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda today but as I finished Sarah J. Maas’ first book in the Throne Of Glass series literally about half an hour ago I just had to get this up ASAP! IMG_0650

Due to the huge hype surrounding this series I was a little wary going into this book: what if I hated it? What if I was the odd one out in the massive group of fans? And to be honest at first I was really unsure about it. I’m not exactly the biggest fan of omnipresent narrators and split viewpoints so when I realised this book contained both I was a little…apprehensive. The story was a little slow to start for me, probably because of the fact I was so hesitant about the book itself. One thing I did know from the beginning though; Celaena Sardothien is one badass protagonist that I obviously adored!!

It was literally like she stepped out of one of my characters from Skyrim. I enjoyed how refreshing it was to read about a female character who can stand up for herself and isn’t unfamiliar to a bit of bloodlust. The same thing goes to Nehemia who I really look forward to seeing more of in the next books. I have to mention the two wonderful men in this book: both Chaol and Dorian really stand out and have their own characteristics which take the book up to the next level.  But I’m totally Team Dorian!!

As for the plot it was just what I wanted. It was rich, full or action but not lacking any character development or realism (despite being set in a fictional universe with magic and Champions). The second half was so much better than the first, as i said before I thought it was quite slow to start but once it found it’s footing it was thoroughly enjoyable!!

I’m really intrigued to see where this story is going to go!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Nice review! Personally, I thought Celaena wasn’t enough of an assassin (or at least not enough to be The World’s Greatest Assassin) in this book but maybe in the next book, there’s more action for her to show her real skills. I also hope the world gets more developed too. 🙂

    Like

    • I agree actually, but I think that her fitness – or lack of it – was why she wasn’t The World’s Greatest Assassin! Some more world development would be awesome!! 😊 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

