Q&A with a.booknerd / Kiara

IMG_0732

I started talking to Kiara on her Instagram account a while ago and she welcomed me into the Bookstagram community with open arms and book recommendations – the best welcome there is! So in honour of my wonderful new friend hitting 1000 followers on Instagram I asked her if she’d like to do a Q&A with me.  She happily agreed and so this happened:

What bookstagram accounts do you look up to?

booksanatomy – Aria

readingoncloud9 – Karmen 

myriadinklings – Jeanette 

Those are just a few, but I absolutely love their accounts! They’re so perfect and beautiful in their own ways. Plus, all three of them are so kind.

What’s the best thing about bookstagram?

The people! Everyone is so kind and nice, and just welcoming. I’ve never met so many wonderful, awesome people before. And being able to meet people from all over the world is so amazing as well.

What book made you fall in love with reading?

Okay, this one is hard haha. I grew up with books. My parents always read to us, my mom taught me how to read, so books were always around. So I’ve read multiple children stories and really enjoyed them, but the book that really made me fall in love with reading was Maximum Ride. I was a little girl going into 6th grade, terrified. It was a new school, a new place and somehow everyone magically turned pretty over the summer, except poor frizzy haired Kiara haha. But everything changed when I met Max – the main character in Maximum Ride. She helped me through those early teen years by taking me with her through her adventures. Her story sparked my imagination and her leadership inspired me. After reading one Maximum Ride book, I discovered reading, and I discovered the wonderful world of YA.

What book would you love to see as a movie?

I think I’d really like to see Throne of Glass as a movie. That, or Graceling. Both are extraordinary fantasies that could end up being really great movies, if done right!

What book would you want to be a part of?

I’m not quite sure, all the YA books have some pretty awful societies haha. Oh, got it! Cinder. But I’d want to be a lunar, just cause. Plus I like all the futuristic aspects of it all.

Who is your favourite book character(s)?

These are such good but hard questions! One of them is Julie Stuart from Code Name Verity. Another is Max from Maximum Ride. Jamie Fraser from Outlander, Chubs from The Darkest minds. Po from Graceling. And so many more!

Where do you like to read best?

My room. Or I set up my hammock in the front yard and read there. The only thing is it has to be quite; I get distracted easily, which annoys me so much!

What book could you re-read again for eternity? 

There are two: Code Name Verity (my all time favourite book) and The Hunger Games. Both are just such good books and I find something new every time I read them.

For hitting 1k on Instagram you decided to celebrate by creating a blog: A Nerd and her Books. What or who inspired so you to do so and what do you hope for it in the future? 

I’ve always wanted to start one, but I was too scared to do it. So after I started meeting people (on the internet) who had blogs I thought it would be fun to try. My friend, Aria from books anatomy, started one and I love hers so I thought I’d give it a try. For the future, I guess I just hope that it will help me connect with other book lovers and just be a place where people can talk about books 🙂

* * *

I really recommend checking out both Kiara’s blog and her Instagram account as her photos are gorgeous and she has a superb taste in books! Also I must admit she is much better at me at keeping up with tags – I promise I’ll get them done! – and really she is just lovely! Thanks have to go to her for answering my questions and letting me do this; it was a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

