Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_0883

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

‘But death was her curse and her gift, and death had been her good friend these long, long years.’ 

Thanks to some lovely people on Instagram (namely @aarifahk ! )  I was extremely excited to read Crown of Midnight  and to continue on with the story of Adarlan’s Assassin! Let’s just say I was not disappointed.

In this book we got to see Celeana in all her glory; whereas in Throne of Glass her skills were slightly held back due to her time in Endovier. Here we saw Celeana really kicking butt and not holding herself back at all. The action was more detailed allowing for more brutality that was absolutely brilliant. Thankfully it wasn’t excessively detailed, I’m way to squeamish for that. The development and use of the Wrydmarks allowed for more exciting action sequences. These wrydmarks also helped in the world building throughout the story. On that note I was so glad to see more of Rifthold, it really did sound beautiful.

The character development was superb. With Celeana we got an insight into her backstory with the main ‘reveal’ occurring right at the end which is fantastic – and I actually managed to guess what it was! Also as I said before seeing her as more of an assassin than a competitor was great. I enjoyed watching Chaol grow into more of a main character as compared to in the first book; he had real desires, motives and thoughts. The relationship between him and Celeana was both adorable and very frustrating: I will always be Team Dorian!  Speaking of which, something happens with Dorian’s character which left me very very happy, sadly I can’t say what, you’re just going to have to trust me. I think the thing I loved the most about him during Crown of Midnight was the fact he had pragmatic emotions. I really felt for him despite him having a smaller role in the story.  There was one event in the story that I couldn’t cope with – there is a death. I didn’t like it. Well it was very good for the plot…but still!

The writing was consistent and entertaining. I really enjoy Maas’ style – it’s a good balance of easy reading and more complexity. Yes I realise that sentence doesn’t make much sense! For each point of view Maas made use of specific flairs that both aided in characterisation and story telling. For example Celeana’s tone had a slight air of self-importance, Chaol’s a constant worry and Dorian’s a persistent fear.

The ending leads on to the next book so well; I can’t wait to see more of the world. This book was non-stop and I’m thoroughly excited for the next one !

‘He had no idea what sort of darkness lurked inside her, or what sort of monster she was willing to become in order to make things right.’

Leave a Reply

