Book Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Finding-Audrey

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“They talk about “body language,” as if we all speak it the same. But everyone has their own dialect. For me right now, for example, swiveling my body right away and staring rigidly at the corner means, “I like you.” Because I didn’t run away and shut myself in the bathroom. I just hope he realizes that.”

This book was absolutely adorable, it was so sweet and sincere. I’ve never read any of Sophie Kinsella’s other books (fun fact my mum is currently reading the Confessions of a Shopaholic series) so I can’t personally compare however I have been informed (by my mum) that within the Shopaholic series the writing is extremely relatable and realistic whilst remaining humorous.  This is the same with Finding Audrey; Kinsella writes as if she is Audrey, a teenage girl suffering with severe anxiety. In fact all the characters felt completely real despite their boisterous personalities. The writing style was dotted with ‘anyway’s and ‘so’s. This use of dialect really aids the reader to connect with Audrey as we all use these  adverbs almost everyday – or is that just me? This also helped make this book a really easy read, personally reading it on holiday in one sitting!

* * *

Each character had there own little quirks that made the book enjoyable.  Audrey was so endearing. She was sarcastic and sweet but also vulnerable. And Linus? What a charmer! Overall I really liked his character and how -although he did help Audrey in her recovery- it wasn’t solely down to him, it wasn’t a case of ‘boyfriend cures anxiety’ but instead ‘boyfriend helps girl through therapy and medication as well as playing a supportive role’. But I will say that sometimes I found him to be a bit too pressuring on Audrey, asking her to do loads of things she wasn’t particularly comfortable with., which occasionally frusrated me. I was sat there going “Oh no you don’t buddy! Leave her alone!”.  On another note, I have to confess that I love Frank. He provided a lot of the humour in this book. You could tell that Audrey looked up to him and being a younger sister myself I really enjoyed seeing their relationship, they really juxtaposed each other.

* * *

I admit I did find it a little weird how it seemed that the first half of the book seemed focused predominantly on Frank and his conflict with his mother due to his ‘obsession’ with LOC – a fictional video game.  I mean I enjoyed reading it, it was extremely funny and relatable to some people in this day and age, but I think I would’ve enjoyed to see more of Audrey. For example in the book Dr. Sarah uses a graph a bit like this:

Untitled

to show Audrey’s recovery and if I’m honest I think a bit more time should’ve been spent on the ‘downs’ in order to emphasis the ‘ups’ and to reiterate the message the graph is trying to put across.

* * *

One thing that I thought was really brilliant about this book was the fact that the reader never precisely finds out what happened to Audrey to trigger her anxiety. There were many references to it and we do know some things about it but it was always a little bit nebulous. I feel that this helped convey the idea that Audrey was trying to tell Linus: “stressful events don’t make you ill, actually. It’s the way your brain reacts to stressful events”. She’s telling him that it isn’t important what happened, it’s how she deals with it and her recovery from it that is.

One thought on “Book Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Leave a Reply

