Mini Monday Review #1

Mini Monday Review is a new feature on this site in which I am hoping to do a very short review (focused on plot and characters) every Monday! 

photo

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”

This story has multiple twists providing it’s tension (and bulk) and she makes this possible by using an omniscient third person narrative which is done very well. The main mystery in this book was brilliant, I had no idea who the foreboding Magister was. I was a little disappointed with who it was but the revelation was superb. The plot was gripping throughout, never dull at any point. This has a lot to do with the action sequences, Clare is the master of these!  A lot of questions were raised in this novel and very few actually answered, a good lead onto the next book. However I would have liked to have known a bit more.

* * *

The majority of the characters were interesting to read though I had a couple of problems with some of the main characters. Jem and Will were both the swoon worthy male protagonists; one kind and one sarcastic. I must admit Jem got on my nerves a little but for the most part his witty dialogue and ‘banter’ provided a lot of humour and insight to the relationships within the Institute. The other minor characters were all very well done and they were great. Tessa, however, was very hit and miss with me. Sometimes I loved her and sometimes…I didn’t. She represented her era very well and her girly tendencies and reliance on others were understandable but I wanted to see her kick ass a bit more. Her ‘power’ though was really cool as weas the mystery that ties with it. I really did enjoy her appreciation of books and poetry that were relevant to both the time and the plot (however subtly).

* * *

Finally I’d say this book is a very exciting and action packed novel that is very easy to read and provides interesting character relationships and developments.

Leave a Reply

