Mini Monday Review #7

CSy-sFtWUAAWAxP

Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick

⭐️⭐️⭐️

Dangerous Lies follows Stella Gorden, recently put into witness protection. You watch her as she tries to deal with her new shadow of danger and tries to cope with the aspects of her new life, including the handsome cowboy-next-door Chet. Only problem is that in my opinion there’s only so much coping that can be explored in a book before it gets boring. The plot felt quite lacking; particularly around the antagonist Danny Balando and his “vicious thugs”. They were pretty much absent until the very last pages! I went into this book expecting a thriller and got a romance in the end. However the romance was done exceptionally. It was just so cute ! And thankfully there was just enough realism along side the adorableness  for me. This is the same for the characters. To me Stella was a bit annoying, but that made her more real. And don’t get me started on Carmina, Stella’s “foster mom”. She was by far the best character; so caring and independent at the same time, a wonderful mother and a kick-butt detective!

* * * 

I overall enjoyed Fitzpatrick’s writing style; it was a great balance between easy reading and gripping ‘WHAT-HAPPENS-NEXT’.  But in my opinion it was a little inconsistent, sometimes I had to keep turning pages because it was either so sweet or so shocking but at some points I really struggled to keep going, but I think that has more to do with personal preference than anything else. The ending is definitely the best bit, there are some incredible twists and really edge-of-your-seat moments. Oh and of course there’s a brilliantly romantic scene thrown in there too! This last section just stood out to me, I wish it had been a little bit longer. 

* * * 

And I have to mention some of the themes the book explored, they were really lovely. Fitzpatrick looks at family and more importantly what it means to be a family. Stella goes through so much and is so unhappy at times but from that she found her own family and her own happy ending. Really it’s all about hope I guess, leading you forward.

* * * 

Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick is published 10th of November, 2015.

Leave a Reply

