Mini Monday Review #8

CUhYi82WEAEVUjG

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 👻

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while (or happened to have stalked my posts at some point) then you’ll know that I am a HUGE fan of Web Series, and recently I stumbled upon Social Medium! This intriguing web show all about Beatrix Beckett, a physic who can communicate with the other side through gadgets, gizmos and social media, instantly caught my eye. Little did I know that later that day I would be able to say I had binge-watched the Origin Story, Season One and along the way found an absolute new favourite series.

 * * *

The videos are all fairly short – making binge-watching a breeze! – yet each one still manages to pack a punch. They’re uploaded in a very unique way; each episode is made up of a number of different parts which are all different videos. By doing this the creators are able to make the most effective, brilliant and frustrating cliff-hangers! But what I love most about this show is it’s humour. It’s quite subtle but has yet to fail to make me smile with it’s interesting and bizarre stories  of ‘Match.com demons’ and ‘Soul eating sirens’! Beatrix herself is just the sweetest and is so passionate about ghost hunting, it’s really lovely to watch. However for me the character of Zola, Beatrix’s sarcastic cyber-genius best friend, stands out the most. Played by the fabulous Kate Hackett  (who stars in one of my other all-time favourite web series) her skepticism, wit and references – “What is the air velocity of an unladen swallow?” – are just incredible and add so much to the show!

* * *

A huge thumbs up to Brian Newlin for fantastic stories and scripts; I love how there are various different cases going on but one big mystery – involving cupcakes, who’d have guessed that?! – running through the entirety. I can’t wait to see more, I will be sat here desperately waiting  for the big reveal! I highly recommend checking this series out if you love ghosts, ghouls and things that go bump in the night!

Leave a Reply

