Book Tag: The 2015 Book Academy Awards

I don’t think I’ve ever actually done a book tag on here before so when the lovely Marie tagged me to do ‘The 2015 Book Academy Awards‘ I thought “Why not give it a go!?”

Most Kick-Butt Heroine

Throne_of_Glass_UK

For me this is a no brainer; Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series. Celaena is a feisty, intelligent warrior who does whatever it takes to seek justice. She still seems so down to earth and she loves books too!

Most Intelligent Heroine

9781407145433

I’m taking a little bit of a personal twist on this perception of intelligence and am going for Jo March from Little Women. Jo is so smart but she dreams of becoming a writer even when that career was frowned upon if you were a woman. She was a feminist as well as being such a beautiful writer and actor; right from the start of this book I warmed to Jo and to me she’s an inspiration!

Most Swooned Over Male Characters

16096824

I have to confess something, I’m not really a ‘swooner’. I don’t really have many fictional crushes, however there is one character that really stood out to me and that was Tamlin from A Court of Thorns and Roses. Tamlin is a cursed fae with what seems like the weight of the world (almost literally) on his shoulders and damn he is just lovely!

Most Confusing Plot

23266378

I couldn’t really think of one here so I’ve chosen The Next Together by Lauren James (which you’ll have seen me talk about before!) because I found the ending really confusing. I say this not as a criticism though! This book has such an intriguing and mysterious plot and right and the end all the pieces are put into place; it happened very quickly and left me with a lot of questions. I cannot wait until the next book is out.

Best Star-Crossed Lovers

23049597

AJ and Esme from Sally Gardner’s The Door That Lead to Where. AJ and Esme where born in two completely different time periods and yet seem absolutely perfect for each other! They’re so different and yet the relationship between them is so sweet; they’re certainly star-crossed to me, everything -including time itself- is against them.

Best Surprise Twist

9780007527526

The resolution to The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie really surprised me, I did not see it coming whatsoever! I’m not going to say anything else on that matter as I do not want to give anything away but if you’re thinking of reading some crime then I’d highly recommend this!

Best ‘Didn’t Expect To Like, But Loved’ Book

Divergent_(book)_by_Veronica_Roth_US_Hardcover_2011

This might be a bit of a surprise to some people but for me this book was Divergent by Veronica Roth. Yes, I do mean Divergent, the much loved series! I don’t know why but I really had no interest in this book at all; it sounded to similar to The Hunger Games and just a bit silly. But boy was I wrong! I was persuaded to read it by a friend and I am so grateful! I was really shocked by this book and I thoroughly loved it!

Best Side-Kick / Best Friend

22910900

I think this deserves to go to Jared from The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness because he seems like the best friend anybody could wish for. He’s like this big, kind, cat-god-teddy-bear and who wouldn’t want that for a best friend?

Best Book by a Debut Author

20618110

Without a doubt Solitaire by Alice Oseman. This book is so poignant and includes humour, incredible characters, nerdy references, beautifully subtle themes and so much more. Alice is such a talented writer and I highly look forward to her next book coming out sometime early this year.

Best ‘Least Known’ Book

22352840

I don’t really know if this book was well known or not but I like to talk about it as much as possible and that’s Read Me Like A Book by Liz Kessler. I absolutely adored this book, it is so relatable and moving and explores some wonderful ideas and themes! A fabulous LGBTQ+ book!

Best Overall Series

Thinking back I don’t think I’ve actually finished a series this year! I’ve started a load but I haven’t finished one. Ops!

Wooden Spoon (Biggest Flop)

9780571288007

I’ve had quite a good year of books, there were very few that I disliked and out of those that I did dislike a lot of it was merely down to personal preference. However I think for me the ‘wooden spoon’ was Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James. I had such high expectations and it just didn’t live up. Also I didn’t like the fact the resolution was just a deus ex machina.

Best Overall Book

I honestly don’t think I can answer this book. As I said above I had a good year of books and I read so many that have become favourites of mine. I’ll name you a few, that’s fair, right? Asking For It and Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill, Read Me Like a Book by Liz Kessler, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne, and The Power and the Glory by Graham Greene.


Thank you for tagging me Marie, I really enjoyed doing this! I’m going to tag Emily from Through the Bookshelves and Chelsie from Chelsie’s Book Addiction to do this tag!

4 thoughts on “Book Tag: The 2015 Book Academy Awards

Leave a Reply

