Booktube-a-thon TBR || 2016

DSC_5739.jpg

(It feels so weird to be typing out a blog post again, it’s been way too long!)

The Booktube-a-thon is something that I’ve watched take place many times, never daring to actually take part myself. Often I was a little daunted by all the challenges and the sheer number of people who actually participated it; and other times I just happened to be really busy or on holiday or at school. It was never the right time…until this year! (I know, that was predictable, but sh..!)

This year the BookTube-a-thon is taking place during the first week of my holidays and all my friends happen to be away doing D of E (they’re mad I tell you!). So it felt rather apt, almost as if it were meant to be! I’m so excited about this week: reading, filming, Instagram-ing and Twittering. But, as I said, due to the fact I’ve been at school up till now I haven’t managed to upload a TBR video and so that is what I’m doing now. Better late than never, right?

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 15.29.27.jpg

Challenge 1: Read a book with yellow on the cover.

For this I chose Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll as it’s got a fair bit of yellow on it and it’s a crime novel with a very mysterious plot!

Challenge 2: Read a book only after sunset.

I haven’t actually decided on a book for this yet, I’m planning on going into town and picking up an anthology of poetry or a new graphic novel. Let me know if you have any recommendations in the comments!

Challenge 3: Read a book you discovered through booktube.

I decided to go with a Jandy Nelson book for this as I heard about her through booktube. Sadly I don’t have a copy of I’ll Give you the Sun which was very popular on booktube but instead I’m going with The Sky is Everywhere!

Challenge 4: Read a book by one of your favourite authors.

This was easy to pick: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. Need I say more?

Challenge 5 & 6: Read a book that’s older than you and read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation. 

So I’ve cheated a little here as I don’t really think I’ll be able to read 7 books in 7 days. The book The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge was originally published in 1946 and in 2008 it was made into a film called The Secret of Moonacre which, despite it’s awful reviews, is one of my favourite films and I’m looking forward to watching it again after having read the novel.

Challenge 7: Read 7 books.

As I said I don’t think I’ll be able to complete this challenge but I’m going to try anyway. I’ve had to choose two books for this one as I merged challenge 5 and 6 together; the first being On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher, which I have already finished! The second  has yet to be decided. It will likely depend on how I’m going with time and how I feel. Again leave me any recommendations in the comments!

* * *

And there you have it! I’ll be uploading my first Video Challenge a little later tonight so keep an eye out for that, and let me know if you too are taking part!

Leave a Reply

