Brexit Storytelling Competition

 

img_1647.jpg

I mentioned in my ‘New Years Resolutions’ post that I wanted to use my blog as a sort of diary – a place to share thoughts, reviews, stories, recommendations and more – and so that is what I’m doing! This isn’t going to be an especially long, interesting, or inspirational post but I thought it would be nice to talk about my experience with the Met Film School as winner of the Brexit Storytelling competition!


So I guess it all began on the 23rd of June when Britain voted to leave the EU. Personally, as I wanted to stay, I was disappointed by this. But something that especially struck me was that the government had refused to lower the voting age to 16, despite the importance of this Referendum and the fact that we wouldn’t be able to just wait another 4 years to express our views and potentially change the outcome. Some of my friends wanted to stay, some to leave, but we all wished we could have had a say in the matter. All we could do to show our frustration and our views was to retweet and share posts. Then, around two months later, when I was in Paris for my birthday I found out about the Brexit Storytelling Competition run by the Met Film School; immediately I thought this would be the perfect way to present how we felt as under 18 year olds. So I took pen to paper, fingers to keys, and two days later (five days before the competition closed) I had entered with a short script! On the 15th of September I received an email telling me I was the ‘winner from outside of the Met Film School’; meaning my story would be made with the help of MetGo  and I could attend a course at the school! (Still sounds mad!)

DSC_0588.jpg

I was then introduced to Tomisin Adepeju, a graduate of the School, the director of the short (and I mean he did an incredible job!). Then on the evening of the 14th of November, as I had been invited down to the filming, I set off for London for an early start the next day. After heading across the city to Ealing Broadway I met a bunch of the crew and then we left to start filming! I have to admit I felt like a bit of a spare part; I was really only there to watch and so felt a little in the way. But once they were rolling it was as exciting as it was strange. I was seeing the shots and characters I had made up in my head, and hearing the words I had typed onto a page document alone in my bedroom. It was pretty surreal. See, that is what I want to do, all the time. I want to be a part of a team like that one and being on a set reinforced my passion for film making.


So even though Theresa May has now triggered Article 50 and Brexit still kind of scares me, despite my optimism, this only goes to show that creativity can be found anywhere.

If you fancy checking out the short then here it is:

Also be sure to check out the MetFilm School website to see the other short film for the Brexit Storytelling Competition by Andrés Seara – it’s great!


*Disclaimer: my opinions on Brexit are entierly my own, if you think differently to me then that is totally cool!*

One thought on “Brexit Storytelling Competition

Leave a Reply

