Current Favourites and a Catch Up

FullSizeRender

It’s been a while since I sat down and wrote about what’s going on with me at the moment and what things I’ve really been enjoying recently, so that’s exactly what I’m doing now!

Time has flown by so quickly that two weeks ago I finished my A-Levels! On Friday the 7th of July I had my Leaver’s Ball (that’s where I am in the photo on the left) and it was my last chance to say goodbye to so many fantastic people. That major part of my life is (hopefully) now over, and honestly it’s been weird. After my last exam on the 22nd of June I came home and just enjoyed doing nothing except watching TV shows, movies, and playing video games.

Since then I’ve found a number of other things to spend my time on, including writing and some online courses. I didn’t know how I was going to feel when everything was all over but I don’t feel that much different, just a lot less bored. The monotonous life of revision and light TV watching is over, now everyday can be and is different!

Other than that, not much is happening in my life. By the time this post is up I’ll be in Paris with a friend of mine – my first holiday in which the only responsible adult is myself – so you can expect to see some footage of that soon.

Now let’s look at some of my current favourites. I’m talking films and TV, games, and the much loved ‘other’!

Films / TV

Baby Driver: I have been raving about this film to anybody who will listen and have been discussing it with everybody else who has seen it. I won’t say much else about the film other than I thought it was just an aesthetic and aural delight – if you fancying hearing my in depth thoughts about it check out my full review here.

Wonder Woman: I was so scared about this film being a flop like so many of DC’s other films but that fear was entirely misplaced. I enjoyed every minute of it and came out of the cinema feeling like I could tackle the world with some electric cello playing Diana’s theme in the background. Yes I had some issues with it, particularly the final fight, but it was so much fun I really didn’t care!

The Night Manager (BBC1): Before you say it, I know, I’m very late to this particular party! This was one of the shows my Mum and I decided to binge-watch after my exams ended and it lived up to the high expectation I had of it from the ravings of every newspaper and social media. Hugh Laurie and Tom Hiddleston were both just outstanding and it was 6 hours of pure entertainment!

iZombie Season 3 (Netflix): Ever since I accidentally watched the first episode thinking it was an incredibly long trailer on Netflix’s home page I have loved this show. It recognises it’s a bit ridiculous and just has fun with it. The latest season especially has been amazing; it’s been wonderful having Liv and Ravi and Clive and everybody else back on my screen. I won’t say anymore in case of spoilers, but I’d definitely recommend this show to everybody!

Games

Kingdom Hearts 2.8: After my last A-Level exam I went out and treated myself with a PS4 and this game was the one I knew had to have immediately! The Kingdom Hearts games were the games of my childhood and this one is still incredibly fun to play and has the extra factor of nostalgia!

Borderlands 2: Technically this game has been one of my favourites for quite a long time but I very recently finished it and have been completing some DLCs in the True Vault Hunter Mode which are so much fun! My character Zero is just too cool to leave behind as well.

DSC_8202

Other

Hamilton: Again I’m late to the party, but Hamilton has been on my speakers way more often than not. I listened to the entire thing during a car journey and was astounded by the cleverness of it. The music type is not one I would normally listen to, but the way the songs are all tied together and the lyrics are written are amazing. I’ve never been more interested in American history in my life! Lafayette is my favourite – proud to say I can rap the entirety of ‘Guns and Ships’!

DSC_8204

Film Soundtracks: Film soundtracks aren’t my current favourites, they’re my consistent favourites; if I have my headphones in you can be sure that I have my playlist on with all my favourite pieces of music from film scores. Normally this is just instrumentals, such as the Wonder Woman OST by Rupert Gregson-Williams which is one of my favourites currently, but at the moment I’m also loving the Baby Driver soundtrack (is anybody really surprised?). My two favourite songs from both are ‘Amazons of Themyscira’ from the former and ‘Hocus Pocus’ by Focus from the latter.

UoEA Script Writing Course: So this one is a little bit different – perfect for the ‘other’ section! I’ve been taking part in an online Script Writing course ran by the University of East Anglia and it is so so enjoyable. The course isn’t particularly long (two weeks I think) but it goes into depth about the importance of screen writers in the film making process and into aspects of a screenplay that I’ve never really thought about. I’m so pleased that I can now continue with my own screenplay with a deeper understanding of it.

DSC_8207


I better leave it there I think; turns out I’ve been loving a lot more than I realised! Let me know what you’re currently loving in the comments below, or if you’ve enjoyed any of mine!

7 thoughts on “Current Favourites and a Catch Up

  1. Fear not! Your not the only one late to the Hamilton party. I just started listening to it a few weeks ago and am now OBSESSED. I totally agree. The lyrical geniousness of Lin-Manuel makes the writer in me so happy. I’ve been reading through the Hamilton book recently, which shares some backstory to the songs. It’s pretty cool to read about the music and other things that inspired Lin when writing Hamilton. I’ll stop this comment here because I could go on and on about Hamilton. Haha 😀 A lot of these other favorites sound interesting too! I’ve been wanting to see Wonder Woman and Baby Driver so bad! Hoping to go see them soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

