The Lake District || A Family Holiday

15 / 7 / 17 – 22 / 7 / 17

Part of my A-Level English Lit. course required researching literary critics to find quotes for essays. Once when I was doing some said research I came across John Muir and a number of his quotes, many of which ended up in my essays. But there was one in particular that I thought was so beautiful although I never really understood personally until this holiday, and that quote was:

β€œThe clearest way into the Universe is through a forest wilderness.” 

Spending a week in that little cottage in the middle of nowhere, walking the dogs through forests with wild deers, and having to take very Austen-like walks through fields simply to buy some milk and a loaf of bread, was incredibly inspiring. Not only creatively speaking but also…I don’t know how to describe it…emotionally inspiring perhaps? What I mean is I felt utterly serene there. I could just sit outside in the sunlight, wellington booted feet dangling in the stream and with a book in hand, calm and content. And when I wasn’t doing that, I was off with the family taking the dogs for walks and visiting as many National Trust places as possible – including Hill Top, Beatrix Potter’s 17th century farmhouse, which was adorable!

Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed this holiday despite expecting to detest it. It’s true what they say about nature, it is wonderfully good for the soul!

My travel video only shows a small part of the holiday but I really hope you enjoy it.
Let me know if you’ve ever gone on holiday into nature and what you thought of it in the comments, I’d be really interested to know 😊

duf.jpg

 

