5 Graphic Novels You Should be Reading

DSC_5037.jpg

I have loved graphic novels, comics, and manga ever since I can remember. My childish enjoyment of picture-books has stuck with me and has since developed as I’ve got older. There are so many brilliant things about graphic novels; the main for me being how easy they are to read without sacrificing a decent story. In recent years there has been a sort of boom in the popularity of graphic novels which is so pleasing to me! So I thought I would share some of my favourite graphic novels!

* * *

DSC_5058.jpg

1. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

This quirky debut graphic novel started out as a web-comic and since it’s physical publication has gained masses of praise, and rightly so! The art is gorgeous, the colours work so well with the story and the plot is utterly gripping. Not to mention it’s also bad-ass, feminist and absolutely hilarious!

2. Anya’s Ghost by Vero Brosgol

This ghoulish graphic novel takes some really interesting twists and turns. Following Anya, a girl just trying to get through high school, meeting and befriending Emily, a ghost. The friendship takes a darker road and yet Brosgol takes the story in such interesting directions and pretty much avoids all the clichés!

3. Saga by Brian K Vaughan

I think this graphic novel series is a perfect example of how far my graphic novel journey has come! This series is utterly mind-blowing. Targeted at young adults+ these graphic novels contain everything you might want from a Sci-Fi / war / love series. There are hardcore fights (involving a lot of blood!), pretty strong language and nudity!

DSC_5056

4. Through the Woods by Emily Carroll 

Now this one is definitely darker; in both the graphics and the story. I should really say stories as this graphic novel actually contains five different bone-chilling stories all based around the woods. The stories are all so distinct from one and other so there will definitely be personal preference. The art style is really unique and the colour palate of darker shades with the occasional pop of blood red is so creepy!

5. Beautiful Creatures: The Manga by Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl and Cassandra Jean

I’ve never read any of the Caster Chronicles books but this graphic novel is absolutely fantastic! It has a wonderful manga art style and there’s a sort of beautiful roughness to it that mimics a sketchbook. The story is very gripping but the art is definitely the stand-out aspect of this graphic novel!

 

Advertisements

Bookish Boxing Day Buys

Before we start,

tumblr_mxyo83rlg51s2lnzoo1_500

I hope you are all having a wonderful day; enjoying quality time with the people you love, sharing gifts and, of course,  eating lots of lovely food! Christmas has always been something I’ve loved dearly. I take such enjoyment in giving gifts, every gift has so much thought put into it and I love seeing people’s faces as they open them! But of course the day goes so quickly. So I’ve decided to give you ___ bookish recommendations for those Boxing Day Sales! Go on, treat yourself!

* * *

1. Asking For It, Louise O’Neill 

 

CXBmnYLWYAAQkX4

 

I’m sure you’ve already heard a lot about this book; it’s been winning award after award and rightly so! This harrowing YA novel following the life of Emma O’Donovan after being raped is so important and so incredibly well written. Definitely one for you shopping list!

2. Read Me Like a Book, Liz Kessler

 

photo 2

 

Firstly Liz is such a lovely person (she was kind enough to do a Q&A with me for my review which I’ll link here) and this book is a very endearing novel about Ash in her last year of college trying to deal with school, family and her own sexuality. The writing is beautiful and the characters are so relatable; it’s just wonderful to watch them all grow! And of course, how can you resist that stunning cover!

3. Nimona, Noelle Stevenson

 

photo 3

 

This graphic novel works as both a really sweet and moving introduction to graphic novels as well as a powerful and beautiful story for graphic novel enthusiasts. This is kick-butt, feminist, subtly subversive and utterly hilarious!  If you’re looking for a light read to aid you through the journeys to family in every corner of the world then this would be a perfect choice.

4. The Power and the Glory, Graham Greene

 

photo 4

 

I had to include this fantastic classic novel as it has one of the best settings I have ever read! (Full review here) The “whiskey priest” travels around a poverty stricken Southern Mexico in attempt to escape the Red Shirts whilst pursuing his own redemption and humanity. This book is honestly breath-taking and is just so different. I’d also recommend this book as a little escape from the après-Christmas blues!

5. Some funky Funko Pops! 

 

photo 5

 

I love these little guys but for almost over £10 each their sometimes hard to justify. So Boxing Day sales are the perfect excuse! You can find characters from fandom; Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Game of Thrones and they are only some of the bookish ones! They’re so adorable and are lovely little decorations for your shelves.

6. A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J. Maas 

 

photo 1

 

This book is seriously steamy! The connection between the two main characters -Feyre and Tamlin- is so adorable! This YA Novel is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast featuring faeries, curses, dangers and incredible world building! The plot is rich and perfect for fans of Disney, high-fantasy, and forbidden romances! Nothing more needs to be said!

7. Nerdy Notebooks 

 

CXBnwXoWQAA4F7B.jpg

 

Personally I’ve been trying to cut down on buying notebooks as I have a HUGE collection of beautiful (but empty) notebooks. But how am I expected to walk past all these lovely notebooks with Wonderland prints, Hogwarts crests and Game of Thrones sigils at half-price?! Notebooks are always useful of course; this year I’ll be buying one for the sole purpose of planning out blog posts!

 

 

My August Wrap Up

unnamed

“There is more treasure in books than in all the pirate’s loot on Treasure Island.” — Walt Disney

Now I’m not the fastest reader, I enjoy taking in everything the book has to offer and so am inadvertently slower than some. I did mange to read 7 books in the month of August, two books less than July but I was exceedingly more busy!  I read some really incredible books and there’s quite a variety: crime, high-fantasy, contemporary, lgbt, graphic novels and more! It’s nice to have a disparity in the themes and genres of books.  So here is everything I read with links to my reviews of them:

1. A Court of Thornes and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

2. Read Me Like A Book by Liz Kessler

3. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

4. Eeny Meeny by M.J.Arlidge

5. Deep Water by Lu Hersey

6. The Extraordinary Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

 7. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson 

* * *

I will be posting reviews for them all, just give me time!

Also I thought that I’d use these wrap ups (which I may or may not do every month) as an opportunity to let you know a little about my life because I don’t just want to be that mysterious anonymous blogger (although that does sound pretty cool!) 

* * *

So as I said last month was pretty hectic for me. I had two sets of work experience – one at the brilliant Booka Bookshop which was so much fun and so interesting, the other was at a local newspaper and resulted in getting some stuff published! GCSE results were given out and I was absolutely thrilled with my own. I celebrated my 16th birthday by going down to London to go to the Electric Cinema and see Hamlet (ahhhhh). Of course I received a LOT of books too! Oh, yeh, I moved house too! Now my books (comics, DVD’s, notebooks and records) are all squished onto one much smaller shelving unit and are so very near to falling over completely. I’ll also be starting a new school next week and that just scares me so much. Well I guess I’ll just have to cross my fingers and hope for the best!

Mini Monday Review #4

photo

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

“I can’t have a kid following me around all day.”

“I’m not a kid. I’M A SHARK.” 

I absolutely adored this graphic novel! The art style was incredible, it really suited the story. There were some beautiful panels that had me staring for more time than probably normal and there were some genuinely hilarious ones that actually had me laughing out loud!  The story follows Nimona – a reckless shape-shift with a mysterious past –  and Lord Ballister Blackheart – an ex-hero betrayed and seeking retribution – trying to prove to the Kingdom that their solicitous Institution of Law Enforcement  have a much more villainous agenda.  The relationship that builds up between the two is wonderful to watch; they contrast each other quite drastically making their unlikely  friendship just that bit more special and the ending that bit more sad.

* * *

The plot was full and fast – there was never a dull moment. All the characters had some type of mystery attached to them which were explored at various stages within the story. This provided a bit of a breather from whatever it was Blackheart was breaking and Nimona was killing but also let us delve into the characters. Nimona’s backstory in particular is just heartbreaking; I just loved her! It’s strange how much you sympathise for Nimona considering she is a killer, but she’s funny and can be kind and although she has the ability to become any being she wants she chooses to remain a bit chubby and have short red hair. It’s a subtle message but none the less powerful! Another more subtle theme in the story is brought through the relationship between Blackheart and Goldenloin. Nobody questions it, it’s not a subplot, it just is!

* * *

This is a sweet and humorous graphic novel that will without doubt leave you with a smile on your face. If you’re new to graphic novels or are a fan of Fangirl, feminism, and delightful diverse characters then this is definitely for you!